#TeenSequinsReads #FridayReads

Wondering what our Teen Sequins have been up to? They’ve been reading! For this week’s #FridayReads, we’ve gathered some #TeenReads from our shiny family. Here’s what they’ve got to say:

mockingbird

Rukmini Kalamangalam, age 14 : To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

In light of the controversy surrounding Lee’s sequel Go Set a Watchman, I decided to re-read To Kill a Mockingbird. I expected to find what I had when I read it the first time- a dry, dull book with no relevance to modern-day life. However, the story’s complex characters, and intense struggle of right and wrong drew me in immediately. On a second read, Lee hides clues and messages in the corners of the novel for attentive readers, and the writing is lush and prosaic. The timeless classic and a classically timeless message: race doesn’t determine character, and neither does it determine right or wrong. The heart is what we have to look past the body to see.

 unbearablelightness

Daniel Blokh, age 14: The Unbearable Lightness of Being, by Milan Kundera

The Unbearable Lightness of Being is a book that’s changed me as both a person and writer. Kundera weaves together a story that makes readers engage with the characters and plot, while simultaneously containing a lot of symbolism and philosophy. It’s a book that leaves you both fulfilled by its story and inspired by its meaning.

simpletruth.levine

Margo Armbuster, age 15: The Simple Truth, by Philip Levine

This Pulitzer Prize-winning collection of poetry captivated me. I first picked it up in a bookstore and decided to purchase it upon reading a single poem. Levine’s simple, detailed style allows profound insight into daily life, his work perfectly composed but simultaneously heartrending. I loved this book not only because it’s an invaluable resource to read when writing my own poetry, but also because I found a lot of truth inside its pages.

sound-fury-first-edition

Lucy Wainger, age 17: The Sound And the Fury, by William Faulkner

This was the first book my Great Books class read this semester. It caused me to cry in front of thirty-four high school seniors on at least two separate occasions, which isn’t something I can say for most books.

 

One thought on “#TeenSequinsReads #FridayReads

  1. Philip Levine is indeed a great poet. “He Would Never Use One Word Where None Would Do” is among my favourites of his poetry.

    The only books that have ever made me cry (or have gotten me close to crying) are “Everything Left Unsaid” by Jessica Davidson and “The Last Time We Say Goodbye” by Cynthia Hand. I highly recommend both.

    Go teen sequins!

    -Tiegan

Leave a Reply

