Omnivorous, Trashy, & Always: Getting to Know GS Reader Michael J. Wilson

FB_IMG_1458150291680

Poet Michael J. Wilson reads Poetry for Gigantic Sequins. His book, A Child of Storm, comes out in October from Stalking Horse Press, and will be available for pre-order on the press website and the usual e-sellers this summer. Explore more of his work on Limehawk or on his blog Gnash Nosh, where he posts a poem every day.

Current location?

I currently am sitting in a cafe in Santa Fe, it has an awesome garage door in the front and there is a cool breeze coming in. It is next door to a grocery store. In front is the Santa Fe River, which is a dry bed this time of year but sometime this summer it will fill with water and everything will turn green.

Pick the world of a poem / short story / essay / piece of art that you would want to live in.  

I am obsessed with the worlds of Shirley Jackson. I don’t necessarily want to live in them, but a tour would be nice. We Have Always Lived in the Castle, for instance. It’s a strangely sunless place filled with characters refusing to move beyond family crisis. The actual environment has responded by crumbling about them, yet they refuse to budge. The space is baroque, filled with shadow, it’s oddly ancient and modern at the same time. It’s a mansion, but half of it is rotting. There’s a sort of old Hollywood glamour in this decay. Like Sunset Boulevard or What Ever Happened to Baby Jane or Grey Gardens.

Choose five words to describe your reading habits.

My reading habits in 5 words:

Omnivorous, Obsessive, Fast, Trashy, & Always

What was the best advice someone ever gave you about writing?

The best advice I think I ever got about my writing came from Dana Levin. She has always told me to stop over thinking in my writing. To find the places where my OCD-self stepped in and spun the wheels off the piece. It has led me to a closer reading of my own work. And an attempt to find the places where I add an extra flourish or word when I could just say “here” and “now”.

Leave a Reply

